2015 is over…

2 Jan

It has been a good, and bad year. On a personal level, I have seen some beautiful places – been hanging out in the spas of Budapest & hammams of Istanbul, seen Athens on the brink of economic collapse and discovered the hidden gem Folegandros in the rain.

I had the luxury to choose to live on £1/day for 5 days to get a better understanding for what millions of people have to go through and I’ve challenged myself professionally by taking on a new role as Overseas Project Manager at a very interesting time in the world of International Development. I’ve been to Juba for the first time on my own, and explored the feeling of having high fewer in 45c sandstorms. I’ve shown projects in Uganda to European funders and I spoke at an event in the House of Commons.

Overall, it was an interesting year for me personally without too many changes. I think a lot more will happen in 2016.

Thinking outside my little world, a lot of things changed – for a lot of people. Hundreds of thousands of people had to flee Burundi around election time, fighting intensified in South Sudan, floods have affected people’s lives all the way from Kenya to the UK at the same time as it has been the hottest year on record and severe droughts has hit the US, Brazil and ZA (to name a few places). Terrorist attacks are taking place all around the world and more than 50 million people worldwide have been forced to leave their homes. In addition to this, we continue to abuse the resources of the world and are quickly making more and more animals critically endangered. I could go on forever, but my hope is that 2016 will be a better year – for everyone & everything but Donald Trump, Daesh & extreme right wing parties.

Lxx

 

Leave a comment